ONLINE ORDERING & DELIVERY SERVICE:  FOODLER  |  GRUBHUB   |  EAT24       DOWNLOAD MENU IN PDF    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOTE:  Patrons are encouraged to consider the information provided, to their own satisfaction, in light of their individual needs and requirements.

GLUTEN-FREE DIET
A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: 
wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, Malts and triticale, as well as the use of gluten as a 
food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent. It is the only medically
accepted treatment for coeliac disease, the related condition dermatitis herpetiformis, and wheat allergy. 

Additionally, a gluten-free diet may exclude oats, however medical practitioners are divided on whether 
oats are an allergen to coeliac disease sufferers or if they are cross-contaminated in milling facilities by 
other allergens.

GLUTEN-FREE FOOD
Several grains and starch sources are considered acceptable for a gluten-free diet. The most frequently used are corn, potatoes, rice, and tapioca (derived from cassava). Other grains and starch sources generally considered suitable for gluten-free diets include amaranth, arrowroot, millet, montina, lupin, quinoa, sorghum (jowar), sweet potato, taro, teff, chia seed, and yam. Various types of bean, soybean, and nut flours are sometimes used in gluten-free products to add protein and dietary fiber. In spite of its name, buckwheat is not related to wheat; pure buckwheat is considered acceptable for a gluten-free diet, although many commercial buckwheat products are actually mixtures of wheat and buckwheat flours, and thus not acceptable. Gram flour, derived from chickpeas, is also gluten-free (this is not the same as Graham flour made from wheat).

Gluten is also used in foods in some unexpected ways, for example as a stabilizing agent or thickener in 
products like ice-cream and ketchup.

People wishing to follow a completely gluten free diet must also take into consideration the ingredients 
of any over-the-counter or prescription medications and vitamins. Also, cosmetics such as lipstick, 
lip balms, and lip gloss may contain gluten and need to be investigated before use.

Most products manufactured for Passover are gluten-free. Exceptions are foods that list matzah as an
ingredient, usually in the form of flour or cake meal. Stores catering to a Jewish population stock 
Passover products in late winter or early spring. 

 

725 BOYLSTON STREET |  BOSTON  |  MASSACHUSETTS  | 02116  |  RESERVATIONS  617.859.8181  |  FACSIMILE  617.859.0220

2000-2012 ASIAN CUISINE, INC.  ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. 

 

setstats